„Algorithm back or forth - there is nothing like a personal conversation.“

Joachim Becker

Professional Experience
After studying business administration in Germany and later in the USA, Joachim H. Becker graduated with a Master of International Management. He started his career in 1985 at American Express, International Inc., Travel Related Services, London and Frankfurt, as Marketing Manager for corporate clients. In 1988 he joined PA Consulting Group in Düsseldorf, where he was responsible for the search and selection of executives and specialists via direct approach and advertisements.

In 1991, he assumed responsibility for the successful establishment of the Berlin office. In 1992 he joined the Executive Search Group H. Neumann International GmbH, in Berlin , as managing partner. In 1995 he founded Becker Management Consulting GmbH with offices in Berlin and Munich and became a founding member of AltoPartners in 2006.

Focus areas
Joachim H. Becker has over 25 years of professional experience as a personnel and executive search consultant. He has held numerous senior management positions for national and international companies in a wide range of industrial sectors and industries. His main areas of experience are Automotive (Tier1, OEM & CV), Manufacturing & Engineering, Real Estate & Construction, Medical Technology & Pharmaceutical, and Professional & Business Services.

Focus areas:

  • Manufacturing, Automotive & Engineering
  • Real Estate & Construction
  • Medical Technology and Pharmaceutical Industry
  • Professional & Business Services

Interview with Joachim Becker

Interview with Joachim Becker

What fascinates you about this industry?
Joachim Becker: »I like dealing with people. I’m interested in the larger context in which they work, be it in teams, in companies or in business. The challenge of finding the right person for a specific position is a highly complex task. Beyond all formal algorithms, interpersonal expectations on the part of both the client and the candidate play an important role. Even though my years of experience help me to assess the right match, every search assignment is unique. Ultimately, it’s all about finding the “right fit”.«

Is there a recipe for success for your work?
Joachim Becker: »That would be nice. Part of the success lies in the ability to be open to new ideas - both to the constantly changing requirements of my clients and to the individual needs and demands of the candidates. Furthermore, it is the ability to build a solid relationship of trust. My clients appreciate the personal advice and handling of the personnel search from a single source, the candidates appreciate the personal support, which lasts beyond the conclusion of the contract. Last but not least, I rely on a sure instinct and my years of experience.«

Do your working methods differ from client to client?
Joachim Becker: »Every customer has its own corporate culture. Our strength lies in our ability to adapt to their respective particularities. Many of our customers have been with us for years. This gives us an in-depth knowledge of the company as well as the decision-makers and we are able to understand the structures better and better. The result is a highly targeted, more efficient search process.«

What is essential today to make a career?
Joachim Becker: »From my point of view, solid training is still crucial. Add to that, a healthy dose of competition and a clear focus on professional work, supplemented by the many excellent Master’s programmes available to enrich your offering. It is not a question of “getting through with minimal effort”, but of feeling challenged and growing beyond oneself. This experience is a fantastic basis for finding one’s own way. Social skills are at least as important, especially with regard to future leadership responsibilities. Careers will be made by those who are critical and adaptable and who can motivate and inspire teams to achieve great things.«

In your opinion, how important is an international perspective when it comes to operating an HR consultancy ?
Joachim Becker: »An international perspective is indispensable. Personnel decisions don’t happen in isolation – they take part in the context of a business, an industry and a wider global economy, and each client requires a strategy tailored to their specific needs and where they are in their business cycle. The founding of AltoPartners was therefore a logical step for us, allowing us to combine deep local knowledge with a global perspective which is essential in today’s job market, where borders are increasingly fluid. By networking with our individual partner companies, we can operate worldwide and at the same time make use of our deep knowledge of country-specific particularities.«

Which network does a personnel consultant need?
Joachim Becker: »In the past it was called “vitamin B” , today it is called “networking”. Business relationships and their maintenance are a valuable investment, especially when we follow people over many years. These connections gain stability and trust. Many of our clients today were once candidates in their own right who we successfully placed. There is no golden rule regarding the maintenance of contacts within this network. In addition to the long-term informal care of customers and candidates, we at AltoPartners regularly invite clients to expert forums with current topics, which in turn provides an ideal platform for networking.«

„Algorithmus hin oder her – es geht nichts über das persönliche Gespräch.“

Joachim Becker

Stationen
Nach seinem Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Deutschland und später in den USA erlangte Joachim H. Becker den Abschluss eines „Masters of International Management“. Seinen beruflichen Einstieg fand er 1985 bei American Express, International Inc., Travel Related Services, London und Frankfurt, als Marketing Manager für den Firmenkundenbereich. 1988 wechselte er in die Personalberatung zur PA Consulting Group in Düsseldorf und war dort zuständig für die Suche und Auswahl von Führungskräften und Spezialisten über Direktansprache und Anzeigen. Im Jahr 1991 übernahm er die Verantwortung für den erfolgreichen Aufbau der Berliner Geschäftsstelle. 1992 trat er in die Executive Search Gruppe H. Neumann International GmbH, Büro Berlin, als Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter ein. Im Jahre 1995 gründete er die Becker Management Consulting GmbH mit Büros in Berlin und München und wurde Gründungsmitglied von AltoPartners im Jahr 2006.

Berufliche Schwerpunkte
Joachim H. Becker kann auf über 25 Jahre berufliche Erfahrung als Personalberater zurückblicken. Er besetzte zahlreiche Senior Management Positionen für nationale und internationale Unternehmen verschiedenster Industriesektoren und Branchen. Seine besonderen Erfahrungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Automotive (Tier1, OEM & CV), Manufacturing & Engineering, Real Estate & Construction, Medical Technology & Pharmaceutical und Professional & Business Services.

Branchenschwerpunkte:

  • Maschinen- und Anlagenbau / Automobilzulieferer
  • Immobilien- und Bauwesen
  • Medizintechnik und Pharmaindustrie
  • Professional & Business Services

Im Gespräch mit Joachim Becker

Im Gespräch mit Joachim Becker

Was fasziniert Sie an der Personalberatung?
Joachim Becker: »Ich habe gern mit Menschen zu tun. Mich interessiert der größere Zusammenhang, in dem sie wirken, sei es in Teams, in Unternehmen, in der Wirtschaft. Die Herausforderung, die passenden Köpfe für eine spezifische Position zu finden, ist eine hochkomplexe Aufgabe. Jenseits aller formalen Algorithmen spielen zwischenmenschliche Erwartungen sowohl seitens des Auftraggebers als auch der Kandidaten eine wesentliche Rolle. Auch wenn meine jahrelange Erfahrung mir in der Einschätzung des richtigen Matches hilft, ist dennoch jeder neue Suchauftrag ein Unikat. Letztlich geht es darum, den “richtigen Fit” zu finden.«

Gibt es ein Erfolgsrezept für Ihre Arbeit?
Joachim Becker: »Das wäre schön. Ein Teil des Erfolgs liegt in der Fähigkeit, Neuem gegenüber aufgeschlossen zu sein – sowohl gegenüber den sich permanent ändernden Anforderungen meiner Kunden als auch gegenüber den individuellen Bedürfnissen und Ansprüchen der Kandidaten. Des Weiteren ist es die Fähigkeit, ein solides Vertrauensverhältnis aufzubauen. Meine Kunden schätzen die persönliche Beratung und Abwicklung der Personalsuche aus einer Hand, die Kandidaten die persönliche Betreuung, die auch über den Vertragsabschluss hinaus andauert. Zu guter Letzt gehören sicherlich Fingerspitzengefühl und Erfahrung dazu.« »

Unterscheidet sich Ihre Arbeitsweise je nach Auftraggeber?
Joachim Becker: »Jeder Kunde hat seine eigene Unternehmenskultur. Unsere Stärke liegt darin, sich auf die jeweiligen Besonderheiten einzustellen. Mit vielen unserer Kunden arbeiten wir seit Jahren zusammen. Wir lernen dadurch das Unternehmen sowie auch die Entscheidungsträger und Strukturen immer besser kennen. Daraus resultiert eine bessere Zielgenauigkeit unserer Suche und letztendlich eine höhere Effizienz in der Auftragsabwicklung.«

Was ist heutzutage essenziell, um Karriere zu machen?
Joachim Becker: »Aus meiner Sicht ist nach wie vor eine solide Ausbildung entscheidend. Ich halte einen gesunden Wettbewerb und eine klare Ausrichtung auf das spätere professionelle Wirken in den heute angebotenen exzellenten Masterprogrammen für bereichernd. Es geht nicht darum, mit „Minimalaufwand durchzukommen“, sondern sich herausgefordert zu fühlen, über sich hinauszuwachsen. Diese Erfahrung ist eine fantastische Grundlage, um seinen eigenen Weg zu finden. Mindestens genauso wichtig sind die „social skills“, insbesondere im Hinblick auf zukünftige Führungsverantwortung. Karriere machen wird der, der kritik- und anpassungsfähig ist und Teamgeist und Motivation zu Leitbildern seines Führungsstils macht.«

Wie international sollte eine Personalberatung aus Ihrer Sicht agieren?
Joachim Becker: »Eine internationale Sicht- und Handlungsweise ist heute für das erfolgreiche Management von Unternehmen unabdingbar. Auch Personalentscheidungen sind vor diesem Hintergrund zu sehen und erfordern eine auf die Bedürfnisse des Unternehmens zugeschnittene Strategie. Daher war für uns die Gründung von AltoPartners ein konsequenter Schritt, unseren international agierenden Kunden zu folgen und uns den Herausforderungen eines sich globalisierenden Arbeitsmarktes zu stellen. Durch die Vernetzung der einzelnen Partnerunternehmen können wir weltweit auf einem Qualitätsniveau agieren und gleichzeitig das Wissen um landesspezifische Besonderheiten nutzen.«

Welches Netzwerk benötigt ein Personalberater?
Joachim Becker: »Früher nannte man es „Vitamin B“, heute heißt es „Networking“. Geschäftliche Beziehungen und deren Pflege sind eine wertvolle Investition. Gerade wenn wir Menschen über viele Jahre begleiten, gewinnen diese Verbindungen an Stabilität und Vertrauen. Viele unserer heutigen Kunden waren einst selbst Kandidaten, die wir erfolgreich platzierten. Was die Pflege der Kontakte innerhalb seines Netzwerkes betrifft, gibt es keine goldene Regel. Neben der langjährigen informellen Pflege von Kunden und Kandidaten laden wir bei AltoPartners beispielsweise regelmäßig zu Expertenforen mit aktuellen Themen, die wiederum eine ideale Plattform für Netzwerkbildung darstellen.«