„Resilience and applied empathy - Let’s talk about future-oriented management capabilities.“

Marco Arcaini

Professional Experience

Marco Arcaini is a founding member of AltoPartners Germany. He has over two decades’ experience in this field with more than 600 executive searches to his credit.

An international education (Marco holds an MBA from the OU Business School, UK, and a Bachelor in Business Administration from Hofstra University, New York) steered Marco toward multinational consulting projects from a very early stage in his career.

Over the past two decades, he has successively built on this focus. Today, his client portfolio includes well-known companies from the Financial Services, Retail & Consumer Products and Automotive & Manufacturing sectors, whom he successfully advises on staffing at management level.

Marco specializes in Human Resources, Finance, Marketing and Technology across all sectors and accompanies the search and selection of executives for multinational corporations, their subsidiaries in Germany and abroad and medium-sized companies with an international orientation.

As an onboarding coach, Marco advises and accompanies all managers placed by him on the basis of a structured onboarding plan in a practice-oriented way during the preparation and positioning phase.

Stages

  • Apprenticeship as bank clerk
  • Bachelor of Business Administration at Hofstra University, New York, USA
  • 1998: Entry as junior consultant in the banking and financial services sector of a renowned personnel consulting firm
  • 2002: Involvement in the establishment of a personnel consultancy boutique
  • Part-time study for the Master of Business Administration (MBA) at the OU Business School, UK
  • 20 years professional experience as personnel consultant (since 2006 senior consultant) in the field of executive search
  • Operational control of over 700 search projects
  • Since 19 years successful direct control of search projects, since 8 years focus on executive positions
  • 7 years of practical experience in onboarding consulting
  • June 2011: Partner of executive consulting group (today AltoPartners Germany)
  • Since January 2015: Member of AltoPartners Executive Search Worldwide / AESC Member
  • February 2017: Founding member of AltoPartners Germany

Focus areas:

  • Financial Services
  • Private Equity
  • Automotive & Manufacturing
  • Retail & Consumer Products
  • Board Practice

Interview with Marco Arcaini

How did you get into personnel consulting?

Marco Arcaini: »I learned from scratch, as they say. After graduating, I joined a personnel consultancy, then completed my master’s degree part-time and gained practical experience at the same time. In doing so, I dealt intensively with the search process, which has stood me in excellent stead and as a result, today I have a wide set of tools at my disposal.«

Is it necessary today to be specialized?

Marco Arcaini: »Perhaps not necessary, but there are definite advantages to setting priorities. Today, I am able to familiarize myself with a wide variety of tasks and use my experience and methods to develop tailor-made solutions. Over the years, I have been guided by my needs and personal interests and now focus on the Financial Services, Retail & Consumer Products and Automotive & Manufacturing sectors. In addition, I specialize in the cross-sector functions of Human Resources, Marketing, Finance and Technology.«

Is this job more of a craft or an art?

Marco Arcaini: »I come from the skilled trades. You can be very structured, set up a search, define search fields and handle everything systematically. It works like clockwork. There are many customers who appreciate this approach very much. The art here is probably to muster empathy and to develop a sure feeling for who fits what position and will meet the requirements. Such decisions cannot be made mechanically, and require a high degree of empathy and intuition in addition to experience.«

How do you deal with change processes?

Marco Arcaini: »Change is part of life, everyone comes into contact with it every day. I accompany people in change processes and my aim is to offer them the best possible preparation and support. The key words here are information and openness. I inform my interlocutors very comprehensively and clearly, motivate them to ask questions, question and evaluate all facts and aspects precisely. This is the only way to form a solid basis for decision-making and achieve the security and courage to take the next steps.«

Tell us more about your onboarding consulting practice!

Marco Arcaini: »Well, onboarding consulting, which I have been practicing for many years, has been a matter close to my heart from the very beginning. We used to place managers and then somehow leave them to face the challenges and expectations of our clients. It was obvious, that with all the information and impressions we could gather in the course of the search, we could also prepare the managers in a structured way for their new task. That’s why I have been advising all placed managers since 2011, especially in the preparation and positioning phase.«

You have been a member of the AltoPartners Alliance since 2015. How does this affect your consulting services?

Marco Arcaini: »For us as a consulting group, joining this globally renowned alliance was a stroke of luck. We already had access to international search assignments, but it was limited to a few selected countries where we were able to carry out searches by co-operating with select partners that met our quality standards. That’s different now. With my 350 partner colleagues, we can now conduct complex searches in 35 countries if we wish to. Since its foundation in 2006, AltoPartners has successfully handled over 1,000 cross-border orders. In addition, we maintain an intensive exchange across all major sectors. The partners meet at regional and global level several times a year at specially organized workshops and conferences to analyze and discuss market developments and trends. Our Global Operating Committee specifically promotes the transfer of know-how and creates many friendships. In short, everyone benefits from each other and together we are stronger.«

How do you get new ideas?

Marco Arcaini: »When it comes to a complex task, I am in a position to “zero myself”, so to speak, to go deep inside. Then I usually find an immediate answer to the questions. Sometimes you have to sleep on it for a night. If you are able to relax and calm your thoughts, new possibilities arise, and you gain new ideas or a fresh understanding.«

„Resilienz und angewandte Empathie – lassen Sie uns über zukunftsweisende Managementmerkmale sprechen.“

Marco Arcaini

Berufserfahrung

Marco Arcaini wurde bereits zu Beginn seiner Karriere aufgrund seiner internationalen Ausbildung und der Affinität zu multinationalen Beratungsprojekten in Management-Suchen für global tätige Unternehmen verantwortlich eingebunden.

In den vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnten hat er sukzessive auf diesem Schwerpunkt aufgebaut. Sein Kundenportfolio umfasst heute namhafte Unternehmen aus den Bereichen Financial Services, Retail & Consumer Products sowie Automotive & Manufacturing, die er bei Personalbesetzungen auf Managementebene dauerhaft erfolgreich berät.

Branchenübergreifend ist er insbesondere auf die Funktionen Human Resources, Finance, Marketing und Technology spezialisiert und begleitet hier die Suche und Auswahl von Führungskräften für multinationale Großunternehmen, deren Tochtergesellschaften im In- und Ausland und mittelständische Unternehmen mit internationaler Ausrichtung.

Als Onboarding-Coach berät und begleitet Marco Arcaini alle von ihm platzierten Führungskräfte auf Grundlage eines mehrteilig strukturierten Onboarding-Plans praxisorientiert in der Vorbereitungs- und Positionierungsphase.

Stationen

  • Ausbildung zum Bankkaufmann
  • Studium zum Bachelor of Business Administration an der Hofstra University, New York, USA
  • 1998: Einstieg als Junior-Berater im Bereich Banken und Finanzdienstleister einer renommierten Personalberatung
  • 2002: Mitwirkung beim Aufbau einer Personalberatungs-Boutique
  • Berufsbegleitendes Studium zum Master of Business Administration (MBA) an der OU Business School, UK
  • 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung als Personalberater (seit 2006 Senior Berater) im Bereich Executive Search
  • Operative Steuerung von über 700 Suchprojekten
  • Seit 19 Jahren erfolgreiche direkte Steuerung von Suchprojekten, seit 8 Jahren liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Führungspositionen
  • Seit 7 Jahren Praktizierung von Onboarding-Beratung
  • Juni 2011: Partner der executive consulting group (heute AltoPartners Deutschland)
  • Seit Januar 2015: Mitglied von AltoPartners Executive Search Worldwide / AESC-Mitglied
  • Februar 2017: Gründungsmitglied von AltoPartners Deutschland

Branchenschwerpunkte:

  • Financial Services
  • Private Equity
  • Automotive & Manufacturing
  • Retail & Consumer Products
  • Board Practice

Im Gespräch mit Marco Arcaini

Wie sind Sie zur Personalberatung gekommen?

Marco Arcaini: »Ich habe das “von der Pike auf” gelernt, wie man so schön sagt. Nach dem Studium bin ich bei einer Personalberatung eingestiegen, habe dann berufsbegleitend mein Masterstudium absolviert und parallel praktische Erfahrung gesammelt. Dabei habe ich mich vor allem intensiv mit dem Thema Suchprozess auseinandergesetzt, was mir heute ein exzellentes Handwerkszeug bietet.«

Ist es heute notwendig, spezialisiert zu sein?

Marco Arcaini: »Vielleicht nicht notwendig, ich denke aber, dass es Vorteile bringt, Schwerpunkte zu setzen. Sicherlich kann ich mich heute in verschiedenste Aufgabenstellungen einarbeiten und durch die entsprechende Erfahrung und Methoden maßgeschneiderte Lösungsansätze entwickeln. Ich habe mich mit den Jahren von dem Bedarf und meinen persönlichen Interessen leiten lassen und betreue heute im Schwerpunkt die Sektoren Financial Services, Retail & Consumer Products sowie Automotive & Manufacturing. Zudem bin ich branchenübergreifend auf die Funktionen Human Resources, Marketing, Finance und Technology spezialisiert.«

Ist dieser Job eher eine Kunst oder ein Handwerk?

Marco Arcaini: »Ich komme vom Handwerk. Man kann sehr strukturiert vorgehen, eine Suche aufsetzen, Suchfelder definieren und alles ganz systematisch abwickeln. Das läuft dann wie ein Uhrwerk. Es gibt viele Kunden, die gerade diesen Ansatz sehr schätzen. Die Kunst dabei ist wohl, die Empathie aufzubringen und ein sicheres Gefühl dafür zu entwickeln, wer zu welcher Stelle passt und die Anforderungen erfüllen wird. Solche Entscheidungen kann man nicht mechanisch treffen, das erfordert neben der Erfahrung auch ein hohes Maß an Empathie und Intuition.«

Wie gehen Sie mit Veränderungsprozessen um?

Marco Arcaini: »Veränderungen sind ein Teil des Lebens, jeder kommt damit täglich in Berührung. Ich begleite Menschen in Veränderungsprozessen und will dafür die bestmögliche Vorbereitung und Unterstützung bieten. Die Schlüsselworte sind hier Information und Offenheit. Ich informiere meine Gesprächspartner sehr umfassend und klar, motiviere dazu, nachzufragen, zu hinterfragen und alle Fakten und Aspekte genau zu bewerten. Nur so bildet man eine solide Entscheidungsgrundlage und erreicht die Sicherheit und den Mut, die nächsten Schritte zu gehen.«

Wie kamen Sie dazu, Onboarding-Beratung anzubieten?

Marco Arcaini: »Nun, die Onboarding-Beratung, die ich seit vielen Jahren praktiziere, war für mich von Anfang an eine Herzensangelegenheit. Führungskräfte wurden früher von uns platziert und dann irgendwie mit den Herausforderungen und Erwartungen unserer Auftraggeber allein gelassen. Dabei war es so naheliegend, mit all den Informationen und Eindrücken, die wir im Verlauf der Suche sammeln konnten, die Manager auch strukturiert auf Ihre neue Aufgabe vorzubereiten. Daher berate ich seit 2011 alle platzierten Führungskräfte insbesondere in der Vorbereitungs- und Positionierungsphase.«

Seit 2015 sind Sie Mitglied der Allianz AltoPartners, wie wirkt sich das auf Ihre Beratungsleistung aus?

Marco Arcaini: »Für uns als Beratungsgruppe war die Aufnahme in die renommierte globale Allianz AltoPartners Executive Search ein Glücksfall. Wir hatten zuvor schon Zugang zu internationalen Suchaufträgen, jedoch waren wir nur in wenigen ausgewählten Ländern in der Lage, die Suchen mit Kooperationspartnern mit unserem Qualitätsanspruch umzusetzen. Das ist nun anders. Mit meinen 350 Partnerkollegen sind komplexe Suchen in 38 Ländern möglich. Seit der Gründung in 2006 hat AltoPartners über 1.000 Cross-Border-Aufträge erfolgreich abgewickelt. Hinzu kommt, dass wir einen intensiven Austausch über alle wesentlichen Sektoren hinweg pflegen. Die Partner treffen sich auf regionaler und globaler Ebene mehrmals im Jahr auf eigens organisierten Workshops und Konferenzen, um Marktentwicklungen und Trends zu analysieren und zu diskutieren. Dabei fördert unser Global Operating Committee gezielt den Know-How-Transfer und es entstehen viele Freundschaften, jeder profitiert voneinander.«

Wie bekommen Sie neue Ideen?

Marco Arcaini: »Wenn es um eine komplexe Aufgabenstellung geht, bin ich in der Lage, mich gedanklich sozusagen “auf null zu stellen”, tief ins Innere zu gehen. Dann finde ich meist unmittelbar eine Antwort auf die Fragen. Manchmal muss man da auch eine Nacht darüber schlafen. Ich habe es nicht selten erlebt, dass dann plötzlich eine Idee kam. Wenn man in der Lage ist, zu entspannen und seine Gedanken ruhig zu stellen, entstehen neue Möglichkeiten, man gewinnt neue Ideen oder ein neues Verständnis.«